Assault & Battery Defense

(540) 742-5385

Smart Representation After Assault Charges.

If you're facing assault charges, you probably have a lot of questions. Charges filed under assault and battery are serious crimes that can negatively impact your future. CoxFedLaw develops effective strategies for a well-represented defense of your rights. Over 25 years of experience both prosecuting and defending Virginians gives our team the skills and expertise for smart representation.  

We Get The Best Result.

We represent both misdemeanor and felony assault in General District Court, Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court, and Circuit Court. Our significant experience both in and out of the courtroom provides an excellent defense, no matter the charge. We collaborate with you to ensure you stay informed and understand every aspect of the process. Here are the three most common types of cases we represent:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor: Harmful Touching – Punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. The penalty for harmful touching can be more serious, depending on the status of the alleged victim.  For example, if the victim was selected because of his or her race, religion, or national identity, and physically harmed, the offense is a Class 6 felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
  • Class 6 Felony: Assault & Battery on a Police Officer – Punished with up to 5 years in jail, with a minimum sentence of 6 months. Those resisting arrest are often charged under this statute. Besides police officers, the alleged victims can include other first responders, corrections officers, and judges.
  • Assault & Battery On A Family Member – First-time offenders are usually charged with misdemeanor Assault & Battery. An Emergency Protective Order is issued which prohibits contact between the accused and the alleged victim for three days. If this is the third or more charge against the defendant, he or she can be charged with a felony that is punishable by up to five years in prison.

You Have Options When You Work With CoxFedLaw.

We walk you through your legal options so that you understand the charges you're facing and your best defense. There are many strategies that we argue including self-defense and the first-time offender program. In Virginia, first time offenders who agree to counseling and community based probation can have their charges dropped. Our experienced team works to get you the best results for your situation.

Experienced Representation Offers The Best Results.

CoxFedLaw's 25-years of experience as a DEA prosecutor and defense attorney working both sides of the courtroom means you can depend on a well-crafted defense. Are you concerned about how you're going to pay for your representation? We offer payment plans and take credit cards to get you started. Contact a member of our team to learn more about how we handle assault charges.

Virginia DUI Law

In Virginia, driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or medication is illegal. If a driver who is subjected to chemical testing during a traffic stop registers at 0.08 percent blood-alcohol content (BAC) or higher, he or she is illegally impaired.

Trusted Legal Advice

CoxFedLaw is a lawyer serving clients in Elkton, the Town of Shenandoah, Page County, Rockingham County, the City of Harrisonburg, Augusta County, and the City of Staunton.

Menu